Back in commission

It’s been nearly a year since our last post. Sorry about the impromptu hiatus.

First year in university hit me hard. I didn’t have the time nor any extra room in my brain to tap out a new blog post every now and then. I was too busy trying not to drown in school work, extra-curricular activities and figuring out how to live on my own.

I also didn’t have much to write about. Most of the time, my meals comprised of the limited but decent food available on campus. On the rare occasion where I surfaced from studying and decided to cook a decent meal for myself, I was met with the mission of cooking in the common room of our dorm.

Now don’t get me wrong, our common room had a fully functioning kitchen with a stove, an oven and a microwave. The challenge, was having to haul all my pots, pans, cutting board, knives, containers and ingredients from my room, through four sets of doors, to the other side of my floor. It was a journey that resulted in many lost and dirtied supplies and ingredients.

So to say the least, I didn’t cook very often.

Now that I’m back home for the summer, I’m excited to get a few posts out and get back into the groove of baking, cooking and writing.

Today’s special: Banana Bread

IMG_1532

Our neighbor came by last week to give us three bunches of fairly speckled bananas. We gladly took them to use for baking and smoothie making.

IMG_1543

Would you like to guess how many banana breads I made in a week?

IMG_1549

FIVE

IMG_1566

THIS WAS NOT A DRILL

IMG_1578

This recipe is one that my mom gave to us when we were young. It is probably the very first thing I learned to bake. Over the years, I have tweaked it a little and this is my favourite version to date. This recipe only uses one bowl so it makes for an easy cleanup. This banana bread isn’t overly sweet and relies mainly on the sweetness of ripe bananas. So, if you have a sweet tooth, you might want to look elsewhere for a banana bread recipe. If not, happy baking!

IMG_1581

-Bel

Banana Bread

Ingredients:

  • 2 very ripe bananas
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup of oil
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp allspice
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup semolina/corn flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup coarsely chopped walnuts (*optional)
  • a handful of **mini chocolate chips (*optional)

1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease a loaf pan.

2. Mash bananas and beat in eggs, oil, brown sugar, cinnamon and allspice.

3. Add flour, semolina, baking soda and salt on top of liquid mixture. Gently stir the dry ingredients together being careful not to mix in too much liquid just yet.

4. Once dry ingredients are mixed, add in walnuts and mix wet and dry ingredients together until just combined.

5. Pour mixture into the prepared loaf pan. Throw on as many chocolate chips as you would like. Bake in the preheated oven for 30-40 min or until a skewer comes out clean.

6. Enjoy!

*Optional but tastes SO MUCH BETTER with these two add-ins. If you prefer the bread on the sweeter side and also love chocolate, switch which add-in goes on top and which goes in the bread.

**You could also use regular chocolate chips (which is what I normally use). But, if you do have mini chocolate chips, use those because you’ll get a taste of chocolate with every bite.

***Pro tip: Grease your loaf pan by using the left over oil in your measuring cup. Just flip your greasy liquid measuring cup upside down in your loaf pan until the oil drips out.

Leave a Reply

