Kisamos

Hello there! I know its been a while since we set up the blog without posting anything but here I go. First real post!

A while back, during the summer, I went to Kisamos in Richmond with a friend. After a nice walk around Garry Point, we found ourselves famished. I suggested we go to Kisamos in Steveston. Kisamos is a favourite of our family’s.

Kisamos is a family owned Greek restaurant, serving the most amazing roast lamb you will ever have. I knew that it would be busy on a Saturday night so I was worried about getting in without having to wait.

Luckily, when we got there, they had one table left for two. The host welcomed us warmly and directed us to our table. It was absolutely perfect. Our table was right beside the window, giving me good lighting to take pictures. The only downside was that we were right by the door. Thankfully, it was a hot day, so we didn’t mind much.

We sat down and took a look at the menus. I knew what I was getting without much thought because I always order Moussaka. My friend took a while longer to decide but she opted for the roast lamb under my suggestion. She also decided to order the soup of the day and the mussels in white wine sauce.

We didn’t have to wait long after we placed our orders before my friend’s appetizers arrived.DSCN9745

The soup of the day was a lemon rice soup. It was pretty good however it was definitely a bit too sour. We both liked the rice in it, it gave the soup a nice texture.

DSCN9742

The steamed mussels in white wine sauce was a hit. My friend really loved it.

The entrees came soon after we finished the soup. I couldn’t wait to dig into my moussaka. When my friend saw the size of her roast lamb, her jaw hit the floor. I should have warned her that the portions are huge.

DSCN9746

Roast lamb is what Helena and my mom always order when we come and for a good reason. Their lamb is so tender, juicy and flavorful, you don’t need much else to send you straight up to heaven. Oh, and don’t forget the oven-roasted potatoes which were baked to perfection lemony and so tender that it melts in your mouth.

DSCN9747

Both our entrees came with greek salad, rice pilaf and tzatziki. Everything was delicious. The salad had just enough dressing, making it light and tangy. My moussaka was to die for, with a thick and creamy layer of Bechamel sauce on the top, and layered underneath with eggplants and meat sauce. A combination made by the gods.

Just as I hoped, Kisamos delivered us an amazing meal once again. I have been there countless times and not once have I been disappointed in the quality, the service or the taste. If you are ever in Steveston village in search of somewhere to eat, this is THE place to go.

P.S. Just expect a wait.

Thanks for reading! 🙂

-Bel

Kisamos Taverna

Location: Steveston, Richmond

Address: 3420 Moncton St

Cuisine: Greek

Price Range: 10$-20$

Leave a Reply

